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Casey’s General Stores  

 
Training for All Employees on Selling Age Restricted Products 

 

This training is to be completed before the employee begins work. 

 

Policy:  It is the policy of Casey’s General Stores, Inc. to prohibit the sale of age-restricted products 

to minors. 

 

As a Casey’s employee it will be your responsibility to enforce this policy.   

The legal purchasing age for all states is: 

 

Alcohol or Beer:  21 years old 

Tobacco:             18 years old ( Except certain municipalities, which 

are 21) 

Know your local laws! 

 

 

Go over the following information with the new employee, being careful to explain every item and 

answer any questions the employee may have. 

 

When a customer attempts to purchase beer, alcohol, tobacco or lottery, you must: 

1. Determine the customer’s age. 

Casey’s and federal law requires that anyone under the age of 27 present a valid 

picture ID every time they wish to purchase tobacco products. If a clerk has 

previously verified a customer’s age for an alcohol purchase, they are not required to 

see that individual’s ID each time they make an alcohol purchase, except in the states 

of Tennessee and Indiana. The State of Indiana requires anyone who appears to be 

under 40 years of age to show the clerk a valid picture ID every time they wish to 

make an alcohol or beer purchase. The state of Tennessee requires anyone who 

appears to be under 50 years of age to show a valid picture ID each time they wish to 

purchase alcohol or beer. 

 

 

2. Ask the customer for a picture ID and determine the validity of the ID. 

Only accept a current (non-expired) govt.-issued photo ID that contains the customer’s 

date of birth (e.g. state-issued driver’s license or ID card, military ID, passport, 

immigration ID). 

Have the customer remove the ID from the plastic holder or wallet. 

Closely examine the picture and physical characteristics listed on the ID (such as height, 

weight, and eye color) to ensure that the ID belongs to the customer. 

Examine the ID to ensure that required watermarks and State seals are present. 

If the ID is not readable or difficult to read, question the customer about the information on 

the ID, asking the name, date of birth, etc.  

Immediately decline the sale if the customer does not present a valid photo ID. 
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How to spot a fake or altered ID 

Photo doesn’t match the appearance of the customer. 

The birth date numbers look like they have been changed. In some cases, the typeface 

won’t even match.  Look for tiny pieces of paper with modified dates placed over the 

original numbers. 

The lamination is peeling or there are bubbles under the lamination. 

The word “duplicate” appears on the card.  Someone else may have the original. 

There are pinholes on the surface.  Bleach may have been inserted to white out certain 

aspects of a date. 

The state seal or logo is missing or appears altered. 

Remember clerks are not required to accept any ID they think is questionable. When in 

doubt, request a second photo ID. 

 

3. Determine the customer’s age.  Casey’s Age Verification Procedures 

 

Casey’s First Choice: Casey’s employees are required to use the Retalix register scanner to scan the 

customer’s valid Driver’s License, if available. 

Casey’s Second Choice: Enter the birth date from the customer’s valid ID into the Retalix register’s 

“Birth Date” screen. This screen is displayed once an age-restricted product is scanned on the Retalix 

register. 

 

 When to refuse a sale. 

If the customer appears to be under the age of 27 and does not present a valid photo ID, 

DO NOT MAKE THE SALE. 

If the customer presents an unacceptable photo ID, ask the customer for an additional form 

of identification.  Compare it with the information on the original ID. If it is inconsistent or 

does not provide additional information, 

DO NOT MAKE THE SALE. 

If you feel the customer is intoxicated, refuse to sell the alcoholic beverage to him/her. 

 An intoxicated person could have slurred speech, may stagger, and have a lack of 

coordination or be belligerent. 

 Use prudent judgment before concluding that a customer intoxicated as some 

medical conditions may cause sober people to display the same symptoms as 

above. 

 The company and the individual employee may be held liable for damage caused 

by an impaired person who has been sold alcoholic beverages illegally. 

Never sell alcoholic beverages during hours that are not permitted by law.  Hours alcoholic 

beverages cannot be sold in this location are as follows:    

___________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________ 

List the times and day’s alcohol cannot be sold at this location. 
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 Refusing a Sale. 

When refusing a sale, your tone of voice, body language and word choice can either 

diffuse or ignite a confrontation with a customer. 

Follow these general guidelines: 

 Remain calm 

 If the product is on the counter remove it. 

 Be polite; apologize.  Maintain a customer service attitude. 

 Remember that refusing a sale is not your choice; it is the law. 

 Try to use the following statements: 

o “I’m sorry.  It’s against the law.” 

o “I can be fined and even lose my job.” 

o “Is there anything else I can get you?” 

o “I’d be happy to hold this for you while you go get your ID.” 

Employees have the right to refuse a sale when acting in good faith, and are not required to 

sell an age-restricted product if there is any question that doing so would violate the law. 

 

 Dealing with an upset customer. 

If the customer becomes upset, stay calm and be polite.  If you become upset, the situation 

will become more difficult. 

Explain that it is the federal law that requires you to check identification regarding the sale 

of age-restricted products. 

If the customer remains upset, offer to put the customer in contact with the Store Manager. 

Do not allow an upset customer to intimidate you into making a sale.  As the employee, the 

decision on whether to sell the product is yours.  Casey’s will support your decision if you 

are not satisfied with the customer’s identification. 

 

Any employee who sells an age-restricted product to a minor will be, at a minimum, suspended 

without pay for 7 days and may face fines, a possible jail sentence, attorney fees and court costs.  

Employees dismissed for selling an age-restricted product to a minor are not eligible for rehire at 

any Casey’s location for one (1) year from the date of their discharge and in some jurisdictions, 

may be permanently ineligible for rehire. 

 

REMEMBER, WHEN IN DOUBT DO NOT MAKE THE SALE 

 

 


