Historic Preservation Commission

Commission Overview

The Historic Preservation Commission is responsible for designating historic structures, historic sites, and historic districts within the city limits and encourages historic preservation in the city. The Historic Preservation Commission also provides residents with continuing education about the historic heritage of the city and works with the Milton Historical Society/Milton House Museum and Wisconsin Historical Society.


The Historic Preservation Commission usually meets the first Wednesday of the month at 5:30 p.m. in the City Hall Conference Room located at 710 S. Janesville Street.

Agendas and Minutes

Agendas packets are available prior to meetings, and saved on the City's website.  View the most recent agenda on the City's website.



The Historic Preservation Commission is comprised of seven members, including one alderperson currently serving on the Common Council. Historic Preservation Commissioners are appointed by the Mayor for terms of three years, with the alderperson appointment for one year.

If you are interested in applying for appointment to the Historic Preservation Commission please complete a Committee/Board/Commission Questionnaire.

Current Members

 Phone  Term
Ryan Holbrook, Ald.
350 E. Madison Avenue (608) 577-0492
Council Rep
Keighton Klos
P.O. Box 245
(608) 868-7772
Devin Elliott 208 Vincent Street (608) 921-5105 2024
Leah Kinmonth

Julie Marquardt     2024
Gail Nordlof
8844 N. Dix Drive (608) 868-4036
Lisa Perkins 1141 Arthur Drive (608) 295-3023 2024
Harvey Smith 359 E. Madison Avenue (608) 868-4564
Kris McDaniel 916 Lamar Drive
Terry Williamson 501 College Street (608) 868-3651 2025