Public Library

Library Staff with the Library of the Year AwardThe Milton Public Library was established by the City of Milton, according to the provisions of Chapter 43 of the Wisconsin Statutes, and is governed by a seven-member Library Board of Directors appointed for three-year terms by the Mayor of Milton. The MPL Board works in conjunction with Library Director and library staff, the Mayor, and Common Council to carry out the Library's mission in the community.

The Milton Public Library is part of the Prairie Lakes Library System, a cooperative network of the libraries in Rock County, Racine County, and Walworth County. The System offers a shared online catalog, daily delivery of books and media, and reciprocal borrowing privileges among libraries.

The Milton Public Library won the Wisconsin Library Association 2018 Library of the Year award.

Library Services - All are free!

  • Digital books, movies, and music
  • Study and meeting rooms available for small to large groups 
  • The SPARK: a hands-on lab for creating science, art, and tech projects
  • SPARK Maker Kits: 25 different take-home kits from a ukulele to a microscope
  • Test proctoring 
  • One-on-one computer training
  • Homebound book delivery
  • Book lockers for after-hours pick-up